Happy 2011!

This is a bit of a belated new year post, but it’s been busy so far and is only going to get busier.

I owe all of you a serious update. With having moved recently, finals from last semester, winter break, and starting classes again, I haven’t been paying as much attention this this as I should be. This won’t be abandoned as much, I promise!

Anyways, for those of you interested in what I have been doing, I have been doing more research of comics rather than creating. I am in the process of researching for my senior thesis on Autobiographical Comics as Social Justice (for those of you unfamiliar with my thesis, see my previous entry) It has been a really fun process, and I’ve been spending quite a bit of time in MSU’s Special Collections, which holds the world’s largest public collection of comic books. In a few weeks, I will be going to New York City to meet with Nicole Schulman and possibly other artists from World War Three Illustrated. I also will be checking out the WW3’s exhibit at ExitArt in Manhattan, with over 600 comics in the exhibit. Soon after this, I will begin scripting the thesis itself and hope to be drawing it by mid-March!

On top of my thesis research, I will be presenting at this weekend’s MSU Comics Forum at Snyder-Phillips Hall this Saturday. I’ll be presenting sometime between 1:15-2:45pm. I will be doing a similar presentation to the one I did at the Digital Humanities Conference last October, although it will be more extensive and connected to my own work. You can see the full presentation schedule here. I’m excited to talk about comics and also to check out the Artist’s Alley!

As the weeks come by, i’ll be posting updates on my thesis process, some of my older unpublished work, and if I can squeeze the time in, a new comic. Meanwhile, I hope to see you at the MSU Comics Forum this weekend!

Leave a Reply

