Portland update!

Since I last wrote in here, I have moved out to Portland for the comics certificate program! It hasn’t started yet (it starts Sept. 21), but I started volunteering with the Independent Publishing Resource Center since I got here. As of today, I will be writing a weekly blog entry for them about being a comics certificate student/volunteer/newbie to Portland. I’ll be posting a lot of my work there, so check it out!

Since I arrived out here, I have been getting settled, finding a place to live, finding a job (which I have found two!), and finally getting settled into a routine with comics and my other creative work. The first thing I did upon my arrival (after sleeping, of course!) was visit the Portland Zine Symposium. I had the pleasure of making friends with some pretty fantastic people, and I don’t think there could have been a better event for me to go to upon my first hours living in Portland. Below is a picture of what I walked away with:

I’m also trying to get into the habit of doing an autobiographical daily strip. While it’s hardly turned out daily, I have been cranking out 2-3 strips a week. It feels good, and I’m starting to become more comfortable with short length work. Here is one I drew on my 3rd day here, when I was practically living in coffee shops/sans internet. I just recently finished digitally coloring this:

I also did a sketch of a knitting project I am working on, and also digitally colored that too:

Lots more to come! I’m really excited about it.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

